Interdisciplinary Networks

Networks are platforms tasked with focusing sustained interdisciplinary attention on topics of interest to the GSA membership by distributing calls for papers and forming panel series for the annual conference on a regular basis. Networks also have maintained list-serves, blog sites, and webpages, and have developed publications (journal issues and book volumes) derived from their panel activities.

GSA networks are formed in consultation with the GSA’s standing Interdisciplinary Committee and its co-chairs. Network coordinators are nominated by the IC co-chairs and confirmed by the GSA President and Executive Director for three-year terms. Current IC co-chairs are: Jennifer Evans, Carleton University (2015-2018), and Pamela Potter, University of Wisconsin Madison (2015-2018). Members of the IC are: Celia Applegate, Vanderbilt University (2012-2015); Winson Chu, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee (2014-2016); Bala Venkat Mani, University of Wisconsin Madison (2014-2016); Elizabeth Otto, The State University of New York at Buffalo (2014-2016); Angelika von Wahl, Lafayette College (2012-2015); and Silke Maria Weineck, University of Michigan (2013-2015).

1. Alltag

Paul Steege, Villanova University (2014-2016)

Maria Stehle, University of Tennessee (2014-2016)

2. Emotion Studies

Derek Hillard, Kansas State University (2014-2016)

Heikki Lempa, Moravian College (2014-2016)

Russell Spinney, Santa Fe Preparatory School (2014-2016)

3. Environmental Studies

Katharina Gerstenberger, University of Utah (2013-2015)

Thomas Lekan, University of South Carolina (2013-2015)

4. Family and Kinship

Susan Gustafson, University of Rochester (2014-2016)

Gail Hart, University of California, Irvine ‎ (2014-2016)

Michaela Hohkamp, Leibniz Universität, Hannover (2013-2015)

5. German Socialisms

April Eisman, Iowa State University (2014-2016)

Benjamin Robinson, Indiana University (2014-2016)

Eli Rubin, Western Michigan University (2014-2016)

6. Law and Legal Cultures

Sace Elder, Eastern Illinois University (2014-2016)

Todd Herzog, University of Cincinnati (2014-2016)

7. Memory Studies

Susanne Baackmann, University of New Mexico (2014-2016)

Jonathan Bach, The New School for Liberal Arts (2014-2016)

8. Music and Sound Studies

Joy Calico, Vanderbilt University (2013-2015)

David Imhoof, Susquehanna University (2013-2015)

9. Religious Cultures

William Donahue, Duke University (2013-2015)

Jean Godsall-Myers, West Chester University (2013-2015)

Rainer Hering, Landesarchiv Schleswig-Holstein (2013-2015)

10. Swiss Studies

Peter Meilaender, Houghton College (2012-2014)

Hans Rindisbacher, Pomona College (2012-2014)

11. Trans-Regionalism and Transnationalism

Thomas Adam, University of Texas at Arlington (2011-2014)

Deniz Göktürk, University of California, Berkeley (2011-2014)

Kader Konuk, Universität Duisburg-Essen (2014-2016)

12. Urban Society and Culture

Jennifer Hosek, Queen’s University, Canada (2014-2016)

Michael Meng, Clemson University (2014-2016)

13. Visual Culture

Deborah Ascher Barnstone, of Technology, Sydney (2011-2014)

Thomas Haakenson, California College of the Arts (2011-2014)

14. War and Violence

Jörg Echternkamp, Universität Halle (2013-2015)

Stephan Jaeger, University of Manitoba (2013-2015)

Susanne Vees-Gulani, Case Western Reserve University (2014-2016)