2013 GSA Prize Winners Announced

The GSA is pleased to announce the results of the 2013 prize competitions. They include the GSA/DAAD book and article prizes, the Sybil Halpern Milton Book Prize, and the Graduate Student Prize.

  • The DAAD and the GSA are proud to announce that Professor David Ciarlo (University of Colorado, Boulder) is the winner of this year's DAAD Book Prize for the best book in history or social sciences published during the years 2011 and 2012 for Advertising Empire: Race and Visual Culture in Imperial Germany.
  • The DAAD and the GSA are proud to announce that Professor Ari Joskowicz (Vanderbilt University) is the winner of this year's DAAD Article Prize for the best article in Germanistik or cultural studies published in the German Studies Review during the years 2011 and 2012. His article, "Heinrich Heine's Transparent Masks: Denominational Politics and the Poetics of Emancipation in Nineteenth Century Germany and France," appeared in the GSR, volume 34, no. 1 (February 2011).
  • The GSA is pleased to announce that, for the first time, two books and three authors are sharing the 2013 Sybil Halpern Milton Prize, awarded every other year, and this year for the best book or books on the Holocaust published in 2011 or 2012. The co-winners of the 2013 Milton Prize are: Professor Laura Jockusch, for Collect and Record!: Jewish Holocaust Documentation in Early Postwar Europe (Oxford University Press, 2012); and Professors Jan Tomasz Gross and Irena Grudzinska Gross for Golden Harvest: Events at the Periphery of the Holocaust(Oxford University Press, 2012).
  • The GSA is proud to announce that the winner of this year's Graduate Student Paper Prize for the best paper in German Studies written in 2012-13 is awarded to Carl Gelderloos (Cornell University) for his paper "Simply Reproducing Reality B Brecht, Benjamin, and Renger Patzsch on Photography."