Ann: Barclay Book Prize

Dear colleagues, 

The GSA is pleased to announce the establishment of the David Barclay Book Prize and welcomes nominations. 

The David Barclay Book Prize was inaugurated in 2020 to mark the occasion of Dr. David E. Barclay’s retirement from the German Studies Association’s Executive Directorship, a position he held for fifteen years. This annual prize recognizes both Dr. Barclay’s service to the Association and his scholarship as Professor Emeritus of History at Kalamazoo College. The award will be given to the best monograph (in English or German and published in 2019 or 2020) on the social, cultural, economic, political, or labor history of nineteenth-century and twentieth-century Germany or central Europe. Translations, edited collections, anthologies, memoirs, and books that have been previously published are ineligible for consideration for the Barclay Book Prize. Applicants may be non-US citizens as well as non-US residents. Applicants may apply for both the Barclay Book Prize and another GSA book prize in any given year, although no submission may ultimately receive more than one award.  

Nominations (as PDFs, or links to e-copies) and inquiries should be sent to the committee chair by 20 March, 2021. Note: Because of the pandemic, we request that books be sent to the committee chair as a PDF or a URL (e-book, shared file, etc.). The committee may elect after the deadline to request hard copies of books; however, given the many problems with mail being received by the deadline and the many closures of campus mail offices, we appreciate your helping us address the difficulties of logistics this year.

  • Joyce Mushaben, Political Science, University of Missouri St Louis (Emeritus) (Chair) (

  • Barbara McCloskey, Art History, University of Pittsburgh

  • Thomas Weber, History, University of Aberdeen 

The Barclay Book Prize was generously seeded by former GSA presidents and colleagues of David Barclay's. Donate to help us reach our goal of endowing the prize in perpetuity. To make your donation to the Barclay Book Prize, click *here* and select "Barclay Book Prize".


Margaret Menninger, Executive Director

Janet Ward, President

GSA Executive Council