Call for Papers

The German Studies Association (GSA) will hold its Fortieth Annual Conference in San Diego, California, September 29-October 2, 2016.

The Program Committee cordially invites proposals on any aspect of German, Austrian, or Swiss studies, including (but not limited to) history, Germanistik, film, art history, political science, anthropology, musicology, religious studies, sociology, and cultural studies. Proposals for entire sessions and for interdisciplinary presentations are strongly encouraged. Individual paper proposals and offers to serve as session moderators or commentators are also welcome. The Call for Seminar Proposals is being distributed separately. Please see below for details; that deadline is November 23. Applications for participation in seminars will be opened on January 5.

The submission process for papers, sessions, and roundtables opens on January 5, 2016. ALL proposals must be submitted online; paper forms are not used. The deadline for proposals is February 15, 2016.

Please note that presenters must be members of the German Studies Association. Information on membership is available here.

In order to avoid complications later, the Program Committee would like to reiterate two extremely important guidelines here (the full list of guidelines is available on the GSA website):

No individual at the GSA Conference may give more than one paper or participate in more than two separate capacities.

All rooms will be equipped with projectors. It is the responsibility of the submitter of proposed panels to ensure payment of the AV fee for use of this equipment. If the paper proposal requires high quality sound equipment, that justification must be made in detail at the time of submission.

For more information, members of the 2016 Program Committee:

Program Director:

Todd Heidt, Knox College

Pre-1800 (all fields):

Sara Poor, Princeton University

19th century (all fields): 

Catriona MacLeod, University of Pennsylvania

20th/21st-century history: 

Beth Griech-Polelle, Pacific Lutheran University

Annette Timm, University of Calgary

20th/21st-century Germanistik: 

Christine Rinne Eaton, University of South Alabama

Valerie Weinstein, University of Cincinnati

Contemporary Politics, Economics, and Society:

Jeffrey Anderson, Georgetown University 

Robert Mark Spaulding, University of North Carolina, Wilmington


Joanne Miyang Cho, William Paterson University

April Eisman, Iowa State University


Heikki Lempa (chair), Moravian College

Darcy Buerkle, Smith College

Carrie Smith-Prei, University of Alberta