GSA Call for Nominations

Dear members of the GSA,

I write to you on behalf of this year’s nominating committee to seek your input and involvement as we prepare for our next round of GSA elections.

Have you ever asked yourself how to become more involved in the GSA? Are there other members whose voices you’d like to see amplified? This year, as per our bylaws, we are seeking to fill a total of five positions, including our next Vice President and four board members. The Vice President serves for two years, after which they become President for another two-year term (followed by two years as Immediate Past President). Board members serve three-year terms. For details, please refer to the GSA Bylaws.

As nominating committee, we are charged with generating separate slates with two candidates for each open position (for reasons to do with the pandemic, the slate for the graduate student board member is already set and carries over from last year).

This is where you come in: please use this form to let the nominating committee know of anyone you would like to suggest for an open position – including yourself! We would like to hear from you by Friday, May 20th, 2021. You may return to the form for additional nominations.

If self-nominating, please include a brief (200-word) statement of your qualifications and goals for the position for which you wish to be considered. The nominating committee will approach all nominees to ascertain their interest in standing for election and ask all candidates for such statements before selecting two finalists per position whose names and statements will appear on the ballots. Candidates should be prepared to join a “Meet-the-Candidate” virtual town hall in late June, which will be open to the full GSA membership.

If you have any questions about the positions or the process, please feel free to reach out to myself ( or the GSA Secretary ( 

We look forward to engaging with you throughout this year’s election process and thank you for your involvement in the GSA.

On behalf of the nominating committee,

Johannes von Moltke, chair

Leslie Morris

Sarah Wiliarty

George Williamson