Silent Auditor Applications for Seminars

This year’s GSA Conference in Atlanta, Georgia, will again feature a number of three-day seminars. The full list of seminar topics, conveners, and participants can be found in the GSA Conference Program. This year’s conference will allow for a limited number of silent auditors to attend selected seminar streams. Unlike regular seminar participants, silent auditors will be allowed to present papers in other sections of the conference. They will not be listed in the program as auditors. Please note that the specific roles and rules for silent auditors will be defined by the respective seminar conveners.

If you are interested in auditing one of the seminars, please contact and apply to the seminar’s conveners directly. Below you will find a list of seminars available for silent auditors (not all seminars are accepting auditors). Due to space restrictions and other considerations, we must ask seminar conveners not to admit more auditors to their seminars than the number specified.

(Post)Migrant Theater: Now and Then
Conveners: Ela Gezen (egezen@german.umass.edu); Olivia Landry (olandry@pitt.edu): Damani Partridge (djpartri@umich.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Affect and Cognition in Holocaust Culture
Conveners: Erin McGlothlin (mcglothlin@wustl.edu); Katja Garloff (garloffk@reed.edu); Agnes Mueller (agnes.mueller@sc.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Asian-German Studies — New Approaches
Conveners: Doug McGetchin (dmcgetch@fau.edu); Sebastian Gehrig (sebastian.gehrig@history.ox.ac.uk); Caroline Rupprecht (caroline.rupprecht@qc.cuny.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Benjamin’s Pedagogy
Conveners: Dominik Zechner (dz639@nyu.edu); Dennis Johannssen (dennis_johannssen@brown.edu); Avital Ronell (ar3@nyu.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Critical 19th-Century Visual Cultural Studies
Conveners: Kit Belgum (belgum@austin.utexas.edu); Vance Byrd (byrdvl@grinnell.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Digital Humanities: Concept, Collaboration, and Process
Conveners: Anke Finger (anke.finger@uconn.edu); Kurt Fendt (fendt@mit.edu); Shelley E. Rose (SHELLEY.ROSE@csuohio.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Documentary Fiction and the Terms of Engagement
Conveners: Kirkland Fulk (kafulk@austin.utexas.edu); Andreas Stuhlmann (stuhlman@ualberta.ca)
Number of Auditors: 5

German Life Writing
Conveners: Elisabeth Krimmer (emkrimmer@ucdavis.edu); Katja Herges (kherges@ucdavis.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Jews and Politics in the Post-War Germanies
Conveners: Juliette Brungs (brun0334@umn.edu); Dani Kranz (dani@danikranz.com
Number of Auditors: 5

Not Enough Notes: Exploring the Intersections of Music, History, and Cultural Studies
Conveners: Anthony Steinhoff (steinhoff.anthony@uqam.ca); Caroline Kita (ckita@wustl.edu); Kevin Karnes (kkarnes@emory.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Phenomenology to the Letter: Husserl and Literature
Conveners: Kristina Mendicino (Kristina_Mendicino@brown.edu); Philippe Haensler (philhae@swissonline.ch); Rochelle Tobias (rtobias@jhu.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Philosophy in Literature, Literature as Philosophy
Conveners: Mark Freed (mark.freed@cmich.edu); Tim Mehigan (t.mehigan@uq.edu.au); Azade Seyhan (aseyhan@brynmawr.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Photographs in German Cinema
Conveners: Martin Sheehan (msheehan@tntech.edu); Carrie Collenberg-Gonzalez (carrie23@pdx.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Reading the Human Soul: A History of Technologies
Conveners: Kelly Whitmer (kjwhitme@sewanee.edu); Simon Grote (sgrote@wellesley.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Religious Revivals in 19th and 20th Century Germany
Conveners: Mark Ruff (ruff@slu.edu); Thomas Großbölting (thomas.grossboelting@uni-muenster.de
Number of Auditors: 5

Rethinking Jewishness in Weimar Cinema
Conveners: Valerie Weinstein (weinstve@uc.edu); Barbara Hales (hales@uhcl.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Sights and Sounds: Audio-Visual Studies and the History of the Senses in German-Speaking Europe
Conveners: David Imhoof (imhoof@susqu.edu); Daniel H. Magilow (dmagilow@utk.edu); Heather E. Mathews (hmathews@plu.edu
Number of Auditors: 5

Stranger Things - Constructing Difference in German Culture 
Conveners: Regine Criser (rcriser@unca.edu); Susanne Rinner (s_rinner@uncg.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Strategies for Strengthening Small Undergraduate German Programs
Conveners: Jennifer Redmann (jennifer.redmann@fandm.edu); Timothy Malchow (tim.malchow@valpo.edu
Number of Auditors: 5

The Tragic Today
Conveners: Anette Schwarz (as163@cornell.edu); Silke-Maria Weineck (smwei@umich.edu)
Number of Auditors: 5

Transnational Aesthetic Trends in Cultural Criticism of the German Democratic Republic
Conveners: Nicole Burgoyne (ngburgoyne@gmail.com); Carol Anne Costabile-Heming (carolanne.costabile-heming@unt.edu
Number of Auditors: 5

Women on Men: Female Filmmakers Look Back
Conveners: Muriel Cormican (mcormica@westga.edu); Mary Elizabeth O'Brien (mobrien@skidmore.edu
Number of Auditors: 5